On A Brighter Note

18 05 2009

 I should cease on the depressing entries, at least for now.

Our move is coming along quite well really. Lots of support from a couple of my friends, ok more like one thanks Levi, and several of Preston’s, correction again just one thanks Scott. But it’s good.

 A bit stressful like all moves are, but that’s to be expected.

I’ve been scouring garage sales, classified, penny savers and, yes, even craigslist like a mad woman. Found most of my deals on craigslist. Garage sales only got me in trouble. I’ve bought things I really don’t need. Paints, painting supplies, dvds, mirror candle holders, and various non essential wastes of money. But I can’t help it, its in the genes, it was a damn good deal!

I think Preston leaves it to me seeing that the woman in me comes out and I love to buy everything and figures he leaves it to me to find the deals. Plus he knows better. He knows that whatever furniture he buys is going to be the cheapest of the cheap, if not off the side of the road in someone’s trash, and I’m going to hate it and then he’ll have to deal with my bitching and moaning. Ever told you he’s a smart man? 

So far I’ve bought a beautiful grey microfiber couch, a patch pattern earth tone area rug, a double door less than a year old refrigerator (although it wasn’t needed because we already had one), a portable A/C unit, 2 huge Rubbermaid outside storage locker/containers, a twin size bed with nifty bed frame that has 3 drawers and bookshelves attached and various bath essentials. All in 2.5 days and under $700?!

Today we’ll be picking up a dining table set, a coffee table, a dresser and a night stand. Possible a white leather couch and a CA King memory foam mattress with frame too. Although picking up the mattress might not happen because we may be getting the one at dad’s house. Plus a CA King is way too B  I  G for our place. I don’t know yet. We have to use up all our options first.  

It’s a good thing I’m choosing and buying our décor because lord knows the O.D.D. comes out and everything has to match perfectly, it has to be beautiful and everything HAS to fit PERFECTLY. If not it irks to ends of the earth till it’s replaced. Although Preston is going a bit crazy with my perfectionist side.

We would have had a mattress already, that’s if I wasn’t allergic to the one I bought. Last Friday we checked out a mattress I wasn’t too fond of the headboard, but the mattress was great. It was soft, but firm. I didn’t end up feeling like I was being sucked in. So we picked it up and set it up at the new house. Within an hour my sinuses swelled up. My eyes became puffy, red, and watery. Then the sneezing and hacking came along. I was suffering. I didn’t know what to do. I have never been allergic to anything in my life. First thing the next morning Preston called the lady and asked if we could return it. Of course she wasn’t too happy, but she did and I got my money back.

The next bed issue happened yesterday. It was a nice frame, simple and cute design. But the mattress sucked. In my mind I though well I like the frame, the mattress can be used temporarily until I can afford my tempurpedic mattress. I gave the nice lady a down payment to hold it until we could come back with a truck. As we were leaving Preston finally says, “Well you are pretty much paying $350 for a simple plain frame.” Translation: “You dummy that thing sucks we aren’t getting it.” So fast u-turn Preston got the money back, another unhappy lady, and we are left still with no bed 3 days later. 

Things are coming along though. The only major thing we do need is mattress, other than that once we get a mattress the rest of our stuff can be moved over and we’ll be completely out of the other house and I won’t be feeling like furniture. 

To make things a little more stressful fun, Preston is having a get together with his friends this coming Saturday at the new house. Being the great hostess I enjoy being that means as we are bringing things in I have to unpack and prep the house twice as fast. Honestly, I don’t mind. Sure I might blow up from the absurd mess Preston makes unloading I like that he’s going to have his “boys night.” He rarely sees his friends and they all asked him to do something too. Just seeing him happy and relaxed with the people he’s closest too is just a small part of what makes me happy too. Plus with all the garage, patio and yard room we have now why not?

Nyx has grown accustomed to this moving thing. As if it’s just a regular adult thing to do. Which is bad and good, he doesn’t get thrown out of whack being moved around, but I want him to know we hare gypsies or nomads either. Even if I think gypsies are cool.

With our new house he has a huge garage, driveway and yard to play in. And I’ll be okay with that because he isn’t so close to the road. The park is right up the road from us and a beach down the road in the opposite direction. Within the house he has more of his own personal space. Rather than being crowded by 10 people he only has 3 and he can always find a place to make his own in the house.

I’m glad this house is our “halfway home” our temporary safe haven. We have been more actively looking into the house market. Learning about special grants, Hawaii specific home loans, and different programs helping low-middle income families buy their first homes with no fear of this recession money market hurting them. So in realistic terms I’m looking at next year finally owning a home. I’ve been in contact with a wonderful Realtor who has been in this business her whole life. She’s genuinely a kind person and so helpful giving us all this information. Even if we don’t go through her, her goal is just to help us get into a home of our own.

Once we get settled into this house we are making a face to face appointment with her – we’ve been communicating via email lately – to look at our options and see where we are.

First home here we come!!!!

Actions

Information

One response

28 05 2009
Nai

I HEART YOU!!! You’re coming to visit!!! SHE”S ALL MINE!

Leave a Reply

