Come to think of it….

2 01 2009

2008 just wasn’t the best for my health or Preston’s.

Over the course of the last year Preston and I have been in and out of the hospital more times than we have been in the last 10 years. And yes that is including me being pregnant with Nyx and going to all my appointments. It’s quite amazing really.

My gall bladder issue, having 700lbs antenna arrays fall on me, personal health issues I don’t want to mention, getting the flu, Preston’s rush with his immune system attacking his nervous system, and just your average walk in clinic issues like your common cold. So our health really wasn’t the best and we plan on working on that.

Medical bills are cheap you know. Although we have great insurance that paid for practically 90% of it, I can’t afford surgery bills anymore. :/

So I do believe we will be working overtime and bettering our health. Which means eatting healthier. Which also means very hard to do.

I love food. Especially greasy foods. Not just your average fast food greasy, but some good ol’ soul food. Filipino soul food. Not exactly the healthiest if you ask me, but it tastes oooohhh sooooo good. What more? No rice. I haven’t told anyone yet, but I’m going to attempt to ban rice from my diet. Day 2 and I’m doing good. Some people may ask (especially if they are from the main land) why would rice be so hard? 1. Try being asian. Rice is like a staple food. It’s right up there with meat. You can’t have a meal filled with any meat and have no rice. It’s just not right. It’s like having cereal without milk. 2. Try living in Hawaii and getting meal that has no rice. Chili with rice. Katsu with rice. Prime Rib with rice. EVERYTHING RICE!

I don’t know long this will last, but I’m hoping long enough to lose a couple pounds.

I’m also cutting out soda. I really don’t drink much soda, but when I do it’s like I can ‘t stop sometimes. So it’s all juice and water.

Which brings me to……drinking more milk. I am definitely not a milk lover. I drink milk when I eat cereal. Even my lattes are soy. I don’t quite know why I’m so anti-milk. The taste just doesn’t cut it for me. I’ll pound chocolate milk any day, but plain milk? I’d rather eat brussel sprouts. I hate brussel sprouts. But milk is a great source of calcium, we know calcium is good for you. So I need to learn to love it even if it kills saves me.

I don’t want to spend most of my year in and out of the hospital hopping doctor to doctor and taking pills after pills. I’m only 24 years old I can’t be falling apart now. My son is only 5 he can’t have a mom that feels like she’s 50.