Thursday Thirteen #3

14 11 2007

13 Quotes I love.

 In no specific order. I was going through a lot of my old things and found random scribbles of mine. These are some quotes that I have found some meaning in through the years and some I just kind of found funny. Believe me I have way more than 13 sitting around at home. But these are just 13 I randomly picked out. Maybe one or a few of them will strike you. Each holds some meaning to me. Each I have applied to my life in some way or form. And maybe each will give you a little better understanding of the person I am.

1. I believe in God, only I spell it Nature. ~ Frank Lloyd Wright

2. The best and safest thing is to keep a balance in you life, acknowledge the great powers around us and in us. If you can do that, and live that way, you are really a wise man. ~ Euripides

3. The test of the morality of a society is what it does for its’ children. ~ Dietrich Bon Hoeffer

4.  Men never do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it from a religious conviction. ~      Blaise Pascal

5. Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. ~ Albert Einstein

6. Slow down and enjoy life. It’s not only the scenery you miss by going too fast – you also miss the sense of where you are going and why. ~ Eddie Cantor

7. The world is full of women blindsided by the unceasing demands of motherhood, still flabbergasted by how a job can be terrific and torturous. ~ Anna Quindlen

8. Get all the fools on your side and you can be elected to anything. ~ Frank Dane

9. If you can’t sleep then get up and do something instead of lying there and worrying. It’s the worry that gets you, not the loss of sleep. ~ Dale Carnegie

10. Live well, it is the greatest revenge. ~ The Talmud

11. Heterosexuality is not normal, it’s just common. ~ Dorothy Parker

12. Dreams are the touchstones of our character. ~ Henry David Thoreau

13.  We worry about what a child will become tomorrow, yet we forget that he is something today.  ~           S. Tauscher

 

Actions

Information

12 responses

14 11 2007
WorksForMom

I love (LOVE) your selection of quotes. These were all brilliant and some of my favorites!

14 11 2007
jenn

I liked 5 and 6 the best, but they were all great. Happy TT!

14 11 2007
nicholas

So interesting to see Albert Einstein and Eddie Cantor in the same list! I like those quotes a lot, especially 1 and 4.

14 11 2007
Susan Helene Gottfried

Those are fabulous — I need to post #13 in my house. I’m such a forward-looking person. Too forward at times.

Happy TT!

14 11 2007
palofmine

Have a great Thursday! Nice list by the way! Please stop by my blog if you can!

DEB

14 11 2007
Lori

Great quotes…I had the same idea this week too. Only, we have different posts…that is totally cool:) Happy TT.

14 11 2007
SJ Reidhead

#8 is good!

The Pink Flamingo

14 11 2007
Raggedy

12 and 13 are two of my favorite ones as well.
Terrific Thursday Thirteen!
My TT is posted.
Have a wonderful day!
Happy TT’ing!
*^_^
(=’:’=)
(“)_ (“)Š
Raggedy

14 11 2007
damozel

This is the second great lists of quotes I’ve seen today. Usually I just say, “Hmmm,” and move on, but these were really good. And the Dorothy Parker one was a bonus for me because I adore DP, thought I knew most of her quips, and that one was new to me….

14 11 2007
Rae

This is a great list I always enjoy reading quotes thank you for sharing these Happy TT
http://inraesworld.blogspot.com/

15 11 2007
Natalie

I like numbers 5 and 7 best. 🙂 Great list!

15 11 2007
thephantomsgirlfriend

GREAT post! I look all over for great quotes as I do a Daily Inspiration post. I like #2, #6, and #10. (gotta have a little snarkiness for balance, you know)

Smiles,
Holly
http://theabundanceplace.com

Leave a Reply

