Time, never enough of it.

18 10 2007

If there is one big difference between childhood and adulthood it’s most definitely time.

When you are younger it feels as if time is infinite. Time never really stops, but it feels pretty slow most of the time. Like weeks feel like months. And quite literally you fee like you have all the time in the world.

But here I am on a cloudy Thursday afternoon in 2007. I was just thinking about how my weeks, quite frankly the last 4 years, have gone by so quickly. I’m sure I have stopped to smell the roses every once and a while here and there, but my time is flying by so quickly I’m not quite sure if I’m getting the most out of my 24 hours a day.

I remember the feeling of time from 18 years old and below it was the feeling of forever. The feeling of time never really seemed to have a value. I could put everything off till the next day and not have to worry if I had time to finish or start whatever it was. I remember sitting in school and wondering when it was ever going to finish because I just wanted to play with my friend. On the weekends out side in the driveway or yard playing with my friends we would skate, ride bikes, build tents, play pirates, run around playing tag, go through at least 6 games on my SNES and Sega, hang out at the park, and then relax eatting some ice ceam all within a 5 or 6 hour period. But it felt like we were at it for the ENTIRE day.

Now within 5 or 6 hours I’m lucky if I finish cooking dinner, washing 3 loads of laundry and sweep up my living room. It’s insanity, lol.

But 4 years ago I was 19. I think that’s when I really grew up. I just had my son, I was going to school for something I actually wanted to do, I worked part time and I was learning to be a wife. From then it seems like time was put on permanent fast forward. It’s weird.

You don’t realize how fast time has gone until you step away from it for just a moment. I did that today. I’m sure I’ve done it before, but today I was reminded again. I see how much my enviroment has changed, my friends, my family, my son, and myself. It’s amazing how much time can change everything around and you don’t notice it.

I love how much my friends have grown, how much my son has grown and matured, how my enviroment is changing with every passing wind, and best yet how much I have grown into the person I love today.

So I end this waiting. Because I can’t wait for another 4 years to see where I, we, are at.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

